Winners selected for the 2015 ADAA/DANB Scholarship

  • Print
  • E-mail a Friend

    You may enter up to five e-mail addresses, separated by a comma.

    Close and Submit Buttons

The American Dental Assistants Association (ADAA) and DANB have announced the winners of the 2015 ADAA/DANB Scholarship.

The ADAA/DANB Scholarship is open to all ADAA members in good standing and is intended to help dental assistants turn their professional development plans into reality. When evaluating the applications, the scholarship committee looked for dental assistants who demonstrated a strong commitment to career growth and lifelong learning in the dental assisting profession.

2015 ADAA/DANB Scholarship Winners

  • Laura Gehrman will use her award to continue her professional development through earning DANB certification and ADAA Fellowship. Gehrman began her career as a dental volunteer with the American Red Cross, and has continued to work as a dental assistant in Michigan. Of her scholarship goals, Gehrman says, “While these goals are to be completed this year, I believe they are educational endeavors that will serve me and my profession for years to come.”
  • Monica Mayes, CDA, will use her scholarship award to complete her bachelor’s degree at Arizona State University. Having been in the dental field for over 25 years, Mayes’ goal is to become a myofunctional therapist to expand her role in the orthodontic field. “I could also extend my reach to other orthodontists in the area in need of this type of specialist for their patients,” she says. “From there, the possibilities are endless.”
  • Kelly Smith, CDA, will use her scholarship award to complete her bachelor’s degree and ultimately plans to teach at a CODA-accredited school. “After working as a chairside assistant for over 20 years, I really enjoy being an instructor,” she says, “and I feel this is one way to give back to dentistry.”

To learn more about scholarship opportunities for dental assistants, visit or

Press Release Archives

View DANB’s press release archives by selecting one of the following years: