Nebraska Dental Assistant Requirements
Each state has different requirements for dental assistants. This page includes links to all the information you need to understand the requirements for dental assistants in this state. View the different dental assisting levels, along with the requirements for each. You can also view the allowable duties at each level.
Licensed Dental Assistant Requirements
To qualify as a Licensed Dental Assistant in Nebraska, a dental assistant must:
1. Hold a high school diploma (or equivalent); AND
2a. Graduate from a CODA-accredited dental assisting program; OR
2b. Complete one year (1,500 hours minimum) of dental assisting experience in the five years preceding application; AND
3. Pass DANB’s CDA Certification or an equivalent exam approved by the Nebraska Board of Dentistry; AND
4. Pass a jurisprudence exam approved by the Board covering Nebraska statutes, rules and regulations governing dental assisting, AND
5. Apply to the Department of Health and Human Services for an LDA license
A licensed dental assistant, upon completion of education and testing approved by the Board and with a permit from the department for the respective expanded scope function, may perform the following under indirect supervision: (1) Take dental impressions for fixed prostheses; (2) Take dental impressions and make minor adjustments for removable prostheses; (3) Cement prefabricated fixed prostheses on primary teeth, and (4) Monitor and administer nitrous oxide analgesia.
Note: Under the Nebraska Uniform Credentialing Act, an applicant must be of good character and at least 19 years of age to be issued an LDA license.