Maine State Requirements

  • Print
  • E-mail a Friend

    You may enter up to five e-mail addresses, separated by a comma.

    Close and Submit Buttons

Radiography Requirements

To legally operate dental x-ray equipment and perform dental radiographic procedures in Maine, under the general supervision of a licensed dentist or independent practice dental hygienist, an individual must meet the requirements shown below.

  • Radiography Requirements

    To perform radiography in Maine, an individual must be licensed as a Dental Radiographer by the Maine Board of Dental Practice (MBDP). To qualify for a license, an individual must:

    1. Be at least 18 years of age, AND

    2. Hold current CPR certification, AND

    3. Hold a high school diploma or its equivalent, AND

    4a. Complete a course in dental radiologic technique and safety, which included a dental radiography exam, approved by the Maine Board of Dental Practice, OR

    4b. Successfully complete an examination in dental radiologic technique and safety approved by the Board (Note: DANB’s Radiation Health and Safety Exam meets this requirement)

    5. Successfully complete, with a passing grade of 90 percent, the MBDP’s jurisprudence exam, AND

    6. Submit an application and pay applicable fee to the MBDP.

    Learn more about DANB’s Radiation Health and Safety (RHS) exam 
    Learn more about DANB’s Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) certification
    CODA-Accredited Dental Assisting Programs

Dental Assisting Job Titles and Requirements for Each Level

  • Unlicensed Person

    A dentist in Maine may delegate to an unlicensed person basic supportive dental procedures specified by board statute, performed under the supervision of the licensed dentist.

    If the unlicensed person has successfully passed a certification examination administered by a national dental assisting board (such as DANB’s CDA certification exam), the dentist may delegate to that unlicensed person additional activities, as long as these activities are performed under the dentist’s general supervision.

    Dentists must ensure that all dental personnel complete Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers (BLS) certification and maintain current BLS certification when utilizing, administering, or monitoring local anesthesia, nitrous oxide analgesia, minimal sedation, moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia.

  • Expanded Function Dental Assistant (EFDA)

    To perform expanded functions under the direct supervision of a licensed dentist, an individual must earn status as an Expanded Function Dental Assistant (EFDA). To qualify, one must:

    1. a. Be at least 18 years of age AND 
    b. Hold current CPR certification AND
    c. Pass the jurisprudence exam administered by the Maine Board of Dental Practice with a grade of 90 percent AND
    d. Hold a high school diploma or its equivalent AND
    e. Hold current DANB CDA certification or hold an active dental hygiene license in good standing under the laws of Maine or another U.S. state or a Canadian province, AND
    f. Successfully complete training in a school or program in expanded function dental assisting approved by the Maine Board of Dental Practice, AND
    g. Submit an application and pay applicable fee to the Maine Board of Dental Practice for EFDA licensure

    OR

    To qualify for licensure by endorsement, one must:

    2. a. Be at least 18 years of age AND
    b. Provide verification of current certification in CPR, AND
    c. 1. Provide evidence of holding a substantially equivalent license in another U.S. state or a Canadian province, including verification of all licenses in good standing under which the applicant practiced in the three years preceding application, documentation of the laws and rules of all jurisdictions in which the applicant practiced during the three years preceding application, and a resume/curriculum vitae describing practice during the three years preceding application, OR
    2. Provide evidence of substantially similar qualifications, including all application materials required for initial licensure as an EFDA (see EFDA licensure requirements above), AND
    e. Submit an application, along with all required materials, and pay applicable fee to the Maine Board of Dental Practice

    Learn more about DANB's Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) certification
    CODA-Accredited Dental Assisting Programs