Pennsylvania Dental Assistant Requirements
Each state has different requirements for dental assistants. This page includes links to all the information you need to understand the requirements for dental assistants in this state. View the different dental assisting levels, along with the requirements for each. You can also view the allowable duties at each level.
Expanded Functions Dental Assistant (EFDA) Requirements
To perform expanded functions in Pennsylvania under the direct supervision of a licensed dentist, a dental assistant must hold a state certification as an Expanded Function Dental Assistant (EFDA).
(Note: The state of Pennsylvania has no statute or rule recognizing any other level of dental assistant.)
To obtain this state certification, one must:
1a. Graduate from an expanded function dental assisting program at a two-year college or other Pennsylvania Board-approved institution which offers an associate degree, OR
1b. Graduate from a CODA-accredited dental hygiene school, which requires the successful completion of at least 75 hours of clinical and didactic instruction in restorative functions, OR
1c. Complete a state certification program in expanded function dental assisting of at least 200 hours of clinical and didactic instruction from either a CODA- accredited dental assisting program or a Pennsylvania Board-approved dental assisting program, AND
2. Apply for state certification in expanded functions to the Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry, AND
3. Pass a Pennsylvania Board-acceptable written exam, AND
4. Complete 3 hours of training in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as approved by the Pennsylvania Department of Human Services.
Notes: Expanded function dental assistants who are currently licensed or certified in another state or territory, or in Canada, may be granted licensure or certification in Pennsylvania if their credentials meet the requirements of the Pennsylvania dental practice act.
Effective January 1, 2015, all applicants for a health-related license or certification, including EFDA certification, must complete three hours of Pennsylvania Department of Human Services-approved training in child abuse recognition and state reporting requirements as a condition of licensure.