California Dental Assistant Requirements

Each state has different requirements for dental assistants. This page includes links to all the information you need to understand the requirements for dental assistants in this state. View the different dental assisting levels, along with the requirements for each. You can also view the allowable duties at each level.

California Requirements

Registered Dental Assistant (RDA) Requirements

To be licensed as a Registered Dental Assistant (RDA) in California, one must:

1a. Graduate from a California Board-approved RDA educational program, or

1b. Complete 15 months of work experience as a dental assistant, or

1c. Complete a combination of a non-approved educational program and work experience, AND

2. Successfully complete California Board-approved courses in radiation safety and coronal polishing, AND

3. Successfully complete a 2-hour Board-approved course in the California Dental Practice Act and an 8-hour Board-approved infection control course within 5 years prior to application for licensure, AND

4. Successfully complete an ASHI, AHA, or ARC-approved course in Basic Life Support or a course taught by a provider approved by the ADA’s Continuing Education Recognition Program (CERP) or the AGD’s Program Approval for Continuing Education (PACE), AND

5. Apply for examination and licensure as an RDA to the Dental Board of California, AND

6. Pass the state combined written RDA General and Law and Ethics exam and obtain background clearance by the board.